the nature strip


Veggie lasagne – warm, tasty and from the heart.
May 20, 2013, 7:32 pm
Filed under: Food

vegan lasagne

A couple of weeks ago it was Mother’s Day. I forget that I fall in the ‘mum’ category as I am so focused on acknowledging my own mother on this day. I feel somewhat undeserving of any acknowledgement – my mother has putting up with my crap for 35 years. I have only notched up 15 months on my belt.

vegan lasagne

For some reason, over the years, lasagne has become the dish of choice when cooking up special occasion meals. So for Mother’s Day, my partner took the reins in the kitchen and with my Dad as Sous Chef, produced a veggie lasagne that was juicy, rich, and hearty – much like love really.

preparation for vegan lasagne

This was a vegan version (yes you can have a TASTY vegan lasagne!)

Ingredients:

  • Vegetables – eggplant, zucchini, mushroom and capsicum
    Wholemeal pasta sheets
  • Onion and garlic
  • Tinned tomato
  • Fresh basil
  • Pepper to taste
  • White sauce –corn flour, soy milk and Nuttalex.
  • Optional – dairy free parmesan cheese to sprinkle on the top, post baking.

Bake in the oven until golden brown.

vegan lasagne

 

This dish also makes for a wonderful dinner during cold winter nights. Did I mention it goes beautifully with a glass of red?


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Well done dads, can’t wait to get some of that!

Comment by mummu




Leave a comment