the nature strip


Toe nibbling in the city
April 8, 2013, 12:10 pm
Filed under: Eco, Garden

We all get caught up in our own little bubble but I get so excited when I go exploring and find little green nooks in this big, sprawling city.

fagan park

I recently ventured to Fagan Park for a reunion with members of my extended family that I hadn’t seen for over 20 years. What I didn’t expect on this day was to have my feet nibbled by fish.

Fagan Park is a delight – it has an eco community garden which is abundant with native fruits and other edible greens. It also has a scarecrow. I like scarecrows. They always seem to have a cheery smile and an unappreciated scrawniness that makes me want to tell them they are doing a good job.

scarecrow - fagan park

eco garden pomegranite

The garden offers workshops on sustainable gardening practices and is a big promoter of reducing waste through composting.

nature strip - eco garden - composting

Among this flourishing oasis of a garden, there are pockets with different themes according to the country – a windmill and canal in the Dutch section, a hut and tribal prints in the African section, and fish that like to nibble toes in the Portuguese section.

fagan_park_eco_garden (1)

I managed to convince my 72-year-old father to remove his shoes and socks to experience the sensation of little slimy mouths tickling and nibbling his toes like a vacuum cleaner. It was a nice moment.

fagan park eco garden - feet cleaners

fagan park eco garden


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment